About us

WELCOME TO OUR HOMEPAGE!

We, Servus Steyregg, are a volunteer initiative in the small city of Steyregg in Upper Austria. Servus Steyregg is made up of many enthusiastic people seeking to foster a harmonious and diverse community in our city.

In 2015, three large-scale homes for adult and adolescent refugees were opened within nine months in Steyregg. The third and largest of the three centres was opened after the state of Austria had passed a new law that allowed it to sidestep public consent when opening new accommodations for refugees (Durchgriffsrecht). This decision originally caused some dismay in Steyregg.

Parallel to these developments, several very active individuals in Steyregg started the language café, donation drives, and other private efforts to support our new neighbors with starting their new life in Austria. These volunteer efforts created the foundation upon which the private initiative Servus Steyregg was founded.

Since then, our initiative has continued to grow; currently, we consist of more than 80 volunteers and up to 240 refugees. We host festivals and organize German courses as well as other leisure time activities to create a colourful and diverse sense of community in Steyregg.

We shout out a big thank you to all volunteers, supporters, enthusiasts, and visitors at our events!

Über uns

HERZLICH WILLKOMMEN AUF UNSERER HOMEPAGE!

Wir, Servus Steyregg sind eine ehrenamtliche Initiative in der kleinen oberösterreichischen Stadt Steyregg. Hinter Servus Steyregg verbergen sich viele engagierte Menschen in Steyregg, die gemeinsam für ein vielfältiges Miteinander einsetzen.

Im Jahr 2015 wurden in der 5000-seelen Gemeinde Steyregg binnen neun Monaten drei Quartiere für erwachsene und jugendliche Asylwerber eröffnet. Das dritte und größte der drei Quartiere wurde in Folge der ersten Anwendung des Durchgriffsrechts des Bundes und ohne Einbindung der Bevölkerung geschaffen. Diese Entscheidung stellte das Miteinander in Steyregg vor gewisse Aufgaben.

Einige engagierte Steyregger begannen mit dem Sprachcafé, Spendensammelaktionen und weiteren privaten Bemühungen, um den neu zugezogenen Mitmenschen den Start in den österreichischen Alltag zu erleichtern. Diese Anfänge bildeten das Fundament, auf dem schließlich im Jahr 2015 die private Initiative Servus Steyregg gegründet wurde.

Seither ist unsere Initiative stetig gewachsen; derzeit bestehen wir aus etwa 80 Freiwilligen und bis zu 240 geflüchteten Bewohnern Steyreggs. Durch die Organisation und Durchführung von Begegnungsveranstaltungen, Deutschlernangeboten, Freizeitgestaltung, Festen, und mehr, wollen wir ein buntes Zusammenleben in unserer Stadt fördern.

Wir bedanken uns bei allen Freiwilligen, Unterstützern, Begeisterten und Besuchern unserer Veranstaltungen!